Tuesday, May 21

Why is Islam a great religion?

Islam is the second-largest religion in the world, with over 1.9 billion followers worldwide. Let’s explore why Islam is the best religion in the world, according to billions of Muslims across the planet.

Kaaba is the holiest place for muslims
Kaaba is the holiest place for billions of Muslims worldwide. (Adli Wahid)

Islam is a religion that places a strong emphasis on compassion, kindness, and social justice. Muslims are taught to treat all people with respect and to show kindness and compassion towards others, regardless of their ethnicity, race, or religion. Charity and helping those in need are also important values in Islam, and Muslims are encouraged to be generous and to give back to their communities.

Furthermore, Islam also emphasizes the importance of self-reflection, personal accountability, and self-improvement. Muslims are encouraged to strive towards being the best versions of themselves and to continually work on improving their character and actions.

Also Read: The 20 Most Beautiful Trust Allah Quotes For Life

Islam also has a rich cultural and artistic history, with contributions in fields such as architecture, calligraphy, and music. Islamic art is known for its intricate and beautiful designs and patterns, which have inspired and influenced many artists throughout history.

Islam is a religion that promotes values such as compassion, kindness, charity, personal growth, and artistic expression, which are all positive aspects that can be appreciated and admired. In this article, we will explore 10 great facts about Islam that you may not have known before.

10 Facts About Islam that Make it a Great Religion

1. Islam means “submission” in Arabic

The word Islam comes from the Arabic word “silm,” which means peace, purity, submission, and obedience. The word “Islam” means submission to God’s will, and Muslims believe that Islam is about completely submitting to the will of Allah, who is considered the only supreme being.

2. The Quran is the holy book of Islam

the holy quran
The teachings of the Quran /Kuran make Islam a beautiful religion. (Ali Burhan)

The Quran is the holy book of Islam and contains the teachings and revelations of Allah as revealed to the Prophet Muhammad. In the Islamic faith, the holy Quran is considered the final and complete revelation of God’s message to humanity, and it is the ultimate guide for all aspects of life.

3. The Prophet Muhammad is the last prophet of Islam

Prophet Muhammad is believed to be the last and final prophet of God by Muslims around the world. He is considered the messenger of Allah and is the most important figure in Islamic history. Muslims believe that he received divine revelations from Allah through the Angel Gabriel, which he then taught to his followers.

4. Islam promotes peace and compassion

Islam is a religion of peace and compassion. Muslims are taught to treat all people with kindness, compassion, and respect. The Quran promotes the importance of forgiveness, mercy, and love for one another. Muslims are also encouraged to be charitable and to help those in need.

Peace and compassion are taught in Islamic teachings
Peace and compassion are taught in Islamic teachings.

5. Islam emphasizes the importance of family and community

Islam places great emphasis on family and community importance. Muslims believe that families are the building blocks of society, and strong families lead to strong communities. Muslims also believe that caring for one’s parents and relatives is a religious duty, making Islam the best religion in the world.

Also Read: Why is Eid Celebrated?

6. Halal and Haram

Halal refers to things that are permissible in Islam, while Haram refers to things that are forbidden. Muslims follow strict dietary laws, and food that is permissible (Halal) must be prepared and consumed in a specific way. Pork and alcohol are among the many things that are considered Haram in Islam.

7. Islam is not limited to one race or culture

Islam is a global religion that is not limited to one race or culture. Muslims come from diverse backgrounds and ethnicities, and the religion is practiced all over the world. Islam emphasizes the importance of unity, equality, and brotherhood among all Muslims, regardless of their race or cultural background.

jama masjid delhi
Eid celebration is quite popular in India and across the world. (Naveed Ahmed)

8. Islam has contributed significantly to science and art

Islam has a rich and diverse cultural history, and Muslims have contributed significantly to science and art. Muslim scholars have made important contributions to fields such as mathematics, astronomy, medicine, and philosophy. Islamic art, including calligraphy, architecture, and pottery, is known for its intricate designs and patterns.

9. Jihad means “struggle”

Jihad is a term that is often misunderstood in the Western world. Jihad means “struggle” or “effort” in Arabic and is a central concept in Islam. Jihad can refer to the internal struggle to maintain faith and do good deeds, or it can refer to the external struggle to defend oneself or one’s community against oppression or aggression.

10. Five Pillars of Islam

Islam is based on the Five Pillars, which are the foundation of Muslim faith and practice. The Five Pillars include the declaration of faith (Shahada), prayer (Salat), fasting during Ramadan (Sawm), giving charity (Zakat), and performing Hajj (pilgrimage to Mecca) at least once in a lifetime if possible.

Also Read: Top 5 Largest Mosques in India

daily prayer islam
Daily prayer is considered an important aspect of Islam. (Rumman Amin)

What are the 5 pillars of Islam?

According to Islamic teachings, the Five Pillars of Islam are the five basic acts that are considered essential for Muslims to fulfill to live a fulfilling and meaningful life. This makes Islam a unique religion. These five pillars are:

  1. Shahada – Declaration of Faith: This is Islam’s first and most important pillar. It is the declaration of faith or testimony of belief in God’s oneness and Muhammad’s prophethood. Muslims recite the Shahada during prayer, considered the foundation of Islamic belief.
  2. Salat – Prayer: Muslims must perform five daily prayers (Salat) at specific times throughout the day. The prayer involves standing, bowing, and prostrating while reciting verses from the Quran. Prayer is a means of connecting with God and seeking His guidance and forgiveness.
  3. Zakat – Almsgiving: Giving a portion of one’s wealth to people in need and those less fortunate. The giving of Zakat is considered a means of purifying one’s wealth and achieving spiritual growth. The amount of Zakat to be given is typically 2.5% of one’s wealth.
  4. Sawm – Fasting: Muslims are required to fast during Ramadan, the ninth month in the Islamic lunar calendar. Fasting involves abstaining from food, drink, and other physical needs from dawn until sunset. It is considered a means of developing self-discipline, empathy for those less fortunate, and a deeper spiritual connection with God.
  5. Hajj – Pilgrimage to Mecca: This is the pilgrimage to Mecca (a holy city) in Saudi Arabia, which every able-bodied and financially capable Muslim must make at least once in their lifetime. The Hajj involves a series of rituals in and around Mecca, and it is considered a means of seeking forgiveness and spiritual purification.

Keep visiting The Ganga Times for such beautiful articles. Follow us on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Koo for regular updates.

%d bloggers like this: