Sunday, July 14

India Win 4th Time Hockey Asian Champions Trophy 2023

In a captivating exhibition of high-stakes hockey, India emerged triumphant in a tense and exhilarating final battle against Malaysia during the Hockey Asian Champions Trophy 2023.

Hockey Asian Champions Trophy 2023

The 2023 Men’s Asian Champions Trophy, officially named The Hero Asian Champions Trophy Chennai 2023 due to sponsorship, marks the seventh iteration of this prestigious event. This tournament gathers the top six national field hockey teams from Asia and is organized by the Asian Hockey Federation. The Hockey Asian Champions Trophy 2023 unfolded in two distinct phases – an initial group stage featuring all six teams competing in a single-round robin format, succeeded by the knockout and classification stage.

Following the group stage, the leading four teams advanced to the semi-finals, while the remaining two teams contended in the fifth-place classification match. Concurrently, the semi-finalists who were unsuccessful in securing a spot in the final confronted each other in the third-place playoff match.

Hockey Asian Champions Trophy 2023 Group Stage Results and Scores

August 3, Thursday

Korea 2-1 Japan

Malaysia 3-1 Pakistan

India 7-2 China

August 4, Friday

Korea 1-1 Pakistan

China 1-5 Malaysia

India 1-1 Japan

August 6, Sunday

China 1-1 Korea

Pakistan 3-3 Japan

Malaysia 0-5 India

August 7, Monday

Japan 1-3 Malaysia

Pakistan 2-1 China

Korea 2-3 India

August 9, Wednesday

Japan 2-1 China

Malaysia 1-0 Korea

India 4-0 Pakistan

Hockey Asian Champions Trophy 2023 Final Match Score

In a thrilling match held in Chennai on Saturday, August 12 2023, India secured a historic fourth Asian Champions Trophy title by defeating Malaysia with a score of 4-3. Despite initially trailing 1-3, the host team managed a remarkable comeback in the second half, showcasing their resilience under pressure during a title-deciding clash.

Hockey Asian Champions Trophy 2023 Winning Prize Money

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Stalin felicitated the victorious Indian team, extending his honours to them. Furthermore, the Tamil Nadu government declared a gratuity of Rs. 5 lahks for each player of the Indian team, along with Rs. 2.5 lakh for each support staff member.

Keep visiting The Ganga Times for such beautiful articles. Follow us on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Koo for regular updates.

%d bloggers like this: